Little No-Name Imported Briar

I’ve been looking roundabouts on eBay for some pipes to be had a cheap prices that may need some work to bring back to good form and get some practice in learning the rework craft.

This is one that I won. I will say that when bidding on a pipe it is best to read the WHOLE description! I skimmed this one and got a good laugh when it arrived.

IMG_1754

IMG_1750

IMG_1751

When it arrived it was in very good condition. Lightly smoked and not abused. All it was going to need was just a light cleaning and it would be ready to go. I gave it a short alcohol bath, ran pipe cleaners through the stem and wiped the bowl inside with Q tips. Using Dark Brown Leather Stain I gave it a couple of light coats and flamed it to set. Wiped it down with a soft rag and took it to the buffer to apply beeswax.

IMG_1753

IMG_1758

IMG_1757

And now for the punchline. Remember I said to read the WHOLE description. I missed something in the size area.

IMG_1756

Just a bit on the small side! Ha, ha,ha… Well I did get some practice in! Hope I made you smile at least!

Author: ReserectedPipes

The name ReserectedPipes is a bit like me. While misspelled, it it reflects a small portion of myself, out of kilter in most areas! This blog was started to give me an outlet to share pipe restoration with others. Like several aspects in my life, it was daunting and confusing at first. Then when I really got down into it I saw just how uncomplicated it really is, I was pleasantly surprised. While some think the they need to keep all they learn to themselves, I prefer to share with others what I've learned. In this endeavor I will give a lot of credit to those along the way where I have "stolen" ideas from. (First I recognize the source, then I give a reference, and last it's "like I always said") Seriously, I would like to express Great Thanks to Steve Laug, Reborn Pipes, for the selfless teaching he has offered to me over these past several years as I began my journey. His blog has been the go to place for me to garner as much as I can and to unravel the mysteries of pipe restoration. My wife and I live in Gadsden, Alabama, a mid sized town NE of Birmingham. We have a son living in Atlanta with his wife and daughters (our little pride and joy). I've been told that I've reached the Age of Retirement! Well that's not quite right. It's no an age thing is it!! I'm working two jobs and try to relax with the pipe reserections I do. Which I don't do enough of... Being in the South I also have a passion for BBQ. Another part of the complex life simplified. Smoked meats are another passion for me as well as smoking cheese in the winter. After 90 deg F you will melt and not smoke your cheese. Pork, Chicken and Ribs!! My back yard smells GREAT!!

7 thoughts on “Little No-Name Imported Briar”

  1. Been there done that on the size. I will never forget when I did that the first time – a very tiny little bulldog! About 3 inches long. The next time I ordered a pipe from Mark Tinsky and it was a large size 6 pipe…. neither time I paid attention to the measurements. Lessons learned. Nice work on that one John. It looks like it might be an old one> What does the button slot look like? Is it a hole rather than a slot? That dates it some.

    1. Steve, I was going to photograph it next to myBerkeley Bent which looks to be about a size 5, but, the holder made for a more comical one. The button is a hole not a slot and the ring looks to be possibly nickel. I was thinking it was either a gag pipe or some novelty.

      1. There were pipes that were made for salesmen to carry with them as samples. They were smaller in size but gave the idea of the brand. I am thinking you may well may have gotten one of those. If it is smokable it is probably one of them.

  2. I’m pretty sure we all do this; some of us (me) more than once, too! LOL

    At any rate, sounds like you got s near old piece. And maybe the start of a new sub-collection?

Leave a comment